Arana Ascot Awarded Best Junior Club

Arana Ascot Hockey was awarded the 2017 Brisbane Women‘s Hockey Association ‚Taxation Shield for Best Junior Club‘ this year.

Arana Ascot President, Russell Morrison said this was due to their focus on developing young players.

“We hold regular development sessions throughout the year and draw on our affiliated senior club, Ascot Women‘s Hockey, who provide highly-skilled players to assist,” he said.

The senior Club, who in 2016 signed three times Olympian and Hockeyroos player Angie Lambert OAM, won the Division 1 Grand Final this year.

Arana Ascot Hockey also proudly won three Premierships out of the seven junior teams they fielded.

In 2018, Arana Ascot Hockey have signed Elise Matherson (Australian University player) and Jorja Morgan (Queensland School girls player), to coach the Under 13 Turf teams.

The 2018 season kicks off in January with a five week Hookin2 Hockey program, to give young boys and girls the opportunity to give hockey a go. Hookin2Hockey commences Tuesday, 16 January at the Ferny Grove fields on Tramway Street from 5:00pm – 6:30pm. Register online via the Arana Ascot Hockey Website. Arana Ascot Hockey Club sign on day will be held on Saturday, 27 January 2018 at Rebel Sports, Mitchelton 9am – 1pm.

For more details, follow them on Facebook or contact the Secretary at